Mysteries of the Jesus Prayer

by Newnameelizabeth

I emailed Dr. Chumley who is listed as a contact for the film, Sophia Secret Wisdom and requested an update on the filming progress. Here’s his response,

“Thank you for writing.  Indeed, there is a name change.  It is now likely to be “Mysteries of the Jesus Prayer.”  Do you like that?  We feel it will be more of interest to a general audience.

It is near completion, and we hope that it will be released fall 2010.  Yes, we urgently need funds.  We must still raise $50,000!  But by the grace of God, we will.

I will put you on our mailing list, and let you know when it is released.

Before relating my response to Dr. Chumley, I’d like to write about why I’m interested in the film. It is nice to be able to see locations and the faces of people that I am not likely to have access to in my lifetime. Is this an unhealthy appetite? One statement however bothered me in the trailer, “There’s no need to leave your family, your work, your home; travel with us!” I don’t think there’s anything wrong with looking at people’s travel pictures and listening to their experiences, but it’s going to far to say you don’t need to actually go anywhere yourself, I’ll do it for you. I am prone to want to stay home and look on my icons as all the window to heaven I need, that my view out my windows is all the scenery I need, that my computer provides me with all the information and social contact that I need, and that my immediate family provides all the love I need and even missionary work I need to do. But I know I am protecting myself too much by not physically going out nor letting anyone else in. Besides how can one say they love Christ if they are not willing to go to where He’s present in actual Body and Blood? There’s also something about praying with one’s fellow parishoners that is a very bonding experience. Monastics praying in the same room is not only a great example but a great blessing. Watching monastics pray on film can still be a good and motivating example imo, but only if one actually ends up praying in subsequent silence. Ostrov similarly motivated me to pray.

Another reason I want to see the film is to hear Fr. John McGuckin’s voice. My mother has a very good read-aloud voice which has provided me with some of my fondest childhood memories. My two older brothers and I would excitedly gather on her bed while she read “Huckleberry Finn”, “Old Yeller”, “Savage Sam” and “Where the Red Fern Grows”. I experience something similar when I hear Fr. John’s beautiful voice either on podcast or in the film trailer. His scholarly achievements also make him a very beneficial instructor.

Should Orthodox films be recommended? I’m willing to be classified as a handicapped person who benefits from the extra aid of moving pictures and sound. Of course I don’t think they should be shown during Church Services. There’s enough motion, sights, smells, and reading aloud to keep my attention. But as a catechizing aid, I don’t see why not. I remember being so relieved at school when they would show instructional films instead of having to read everything from a book or listen to lectures. Is the extra dynamic just candy? If so, I’ll go back to the illustration of Saul and his starving army who refused to eat the honey, Jonathan did better by partaking in that case. But to each his conscience and reactions. And I know there is an extra benefit to reading books – it can just seem more like exercise than a meal. My scales are definitely tipped in the wrong direction, and I’m trying to fix that.

Here’s my reply to Dr. Chumley,

“Dear Dr. Chumley,

Thanks for the good news. Regarding the name, it strikes me as more specific to the content, but possibly less relate-able to non-Orthodox. When I was a Protestant I was taught not to pray to Jesus, but just to the Father, so I don’t know if it will raise any defensiveness. I was also thinking the previous title would catch the eye of Buddhists and other more generally spiritual people, but if the content is that specific, the new title wont fall into setting people up for something they may not be ready for. Also only knowing what I know from the trailer, I’ll gladly defer to your judgment. The filming looks exquisite, and I look forward to seeing the whole thing as well as hearing Fr. McGuckin’s wonderful explanations.

I’ve also been wanting to study about Fr. Bulgakov’s Sophiology, which has some appeal to me, but is warned off by many for being too gnostic. Therefore your new title will probably keep those people from warning people off the film. I guess a person can’t please everyone!”