Asperger girls and special interests

by Andrea Elizabeth

What if your whole life can be explained as the result of a disorder? Intense interest in horses and classical literature are symptoms! This segment explains that classical literature has a certain rhythm that Asperger girls find “entrancing”. I can very much get lost in the rhythm and onomatopoeia quality of words, not only English classical literature but Russian Orthodox prayers and language. I care about the meaning, but after I know that, I can put Ostrov on and just listen to the sound of the words while I cross stitch.

Everyone knows how a lot of effort is put into soothing an autistic person. It’s weird to think your interests are a lot about soothing your nerves rather than engaging in something useful. Gotta go see the horses now. bye.

