Captain Fantastic

by Andrea Elizabeth

Captain Fantastic is a well thought out, honest movie about homeschooling. The creators said it was about parenting, and I guess that doesn’t have to necessarily mean just homeschoolers, but I’d say an extremely invested parent. It’s unclear how invested the mother was since she was away being treated for a mental illness. The dad, played by Vigo Mortensen, is an atheist, marxist, survivalist, navy seal type dad who lives with his 6 kids deep in the woods off the grid. While I was impressed with him at the beginning of the movie, he seemed to be showing off much of the time. His character arch is realistic though as he gets confronted for his failings and learns some humility. His first contact with his sister’s family allows him to maintain his superiority. It’s his exceedingly wealthy father in law who puts him in his place. This is the problem I have with Marxists. They are so fanatically fixated upon wealth. The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt also has to have an exceedingly wealthy foil to both criticize and rely on. Marxists want to be able to live their impractical dreams as prodégés of exceedingly wealthy people whom they wish to be sponsored by out of a sense of moral inferiority. I don’t agree with the extremes on either side, but the criticisms about middle class shopping eaters was spot on, even though he caved in the grocery store scene. I was glad for this because I think being a food purist is rude. The end of Captain Fantastic reconciles a lot of my problems with the beginning. I wish it was known how he funded their life though. And I’d like a sequel to see how his kids fared in finding mates and establishing their own households. They are overqualified for most people.

We also watched Arrival, which was very good. I agree with the method, but the political part of the message teetered too close to globalism for me.

