You keep using that word. I don’t think it means what you think it means.

by Andrea Elizabeth

I have understood “impute” to mean to give someone something they don’t already possess, such as Christ imputing his righteousness to sinners. I’m reading Romans straight through for the first time since becoming Orthodox I think. One reason I haven’t is that snippets are included in the daily lectionaries. I don’t know if all the passages are covered in the annual schedule. Another reason is how my background with the Five Solas and TULIP affect my reading. 

In Romans St Paul talks about Abraham’s faith:

“Rom 4:20 He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God; Rom 4:21 And being fully persuaded that, what he had promised, he was able also to perform. 

Rom 4:22 And therefore it was imputed to him for righteousness.”

If this meant that he was given something he didn’t have, then how can this next statement be possible?

““Rom 4:8 Blessed is the man to whom the Lord will not impute sin.”

Impute must instead be the judgment of someone’s re”pute”ation. I’m going to keep reading before I comment further on faith, grace, and works.

