more on Stephen King’s muse

by Andrea Elizabeth

He’s a taskmaster with a whip. That’s how SK keeps his crazy work ethic, which includes writing on Christmas. I guess I should give Johnny a whip. No. I need to keep things nice between us. I can whip myself when I’m convinced I need it. Maybe I can talk to him about it. Sometimes, especially after a day like yesterday, I’m too tired. I usually write when my ducks are in a row and I can relax. Should I write when my brain’s in a frenzy and add to the multitasking? Why not? Doesn’t stressed writing stress others? Sometimes I wish SK would take a break and not make things quite so terrible. I’m about to give up on Lisey’s Story because, one, I don’t think her dead husband was as great as she does. He seems kind of creepy and possessive and didn’t want to share her by having children. He’s charming and drags her through his dysfunction. And the bad guy is too sadistic. There’s a line between legitimate bad guys doing bad things that provoke resistance, and a feeling that the author, and maybe the audience, enjoys torture too much. Mel Gibson is also sadistic, imo.

Salem’s Lot was better, but the love story, meaning the female character, is a little simplistic and stereotypical. Same with 11-22-63, but the other plot is worth it. So far I think The Shining is by far his best. Very realistic relationships, meaning the female character. I guess it’s because it was closer to home for him, being raised by a single mother, and he’s not trying to write an ideal relationship. And maybe he was more relaxed when he wrote it after the success of Carrie and Salem’s Lot. After that, the taskmaster got to work.

Oh, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon was very good. Again a realistic female who isn’t an ideal romantic lead.

 

