the pleasure of your company

by Andrea Elizabeth

I’m practically finished with Aristotle for Everybody by Mortimer Adler, audible version. It’s hard to know when the author is quoting, paraphrasing, or interpreting Aristotle in a modern way. The part I find most interesting, [since I find the formal rules of formal logic irritating. I loved Geometry, so I am capable of using them, but that was then and I am in the practical time of life where applications can include shortcuts. I also found most of the points to be lessons in the obvious.] is the part about friendship and justice. Looking it up now, it appears that this came from his Nicomachean Ethics Book 8.

“when men are friends they have no need of justice, while when they are just they need friendship as well, and the truest form of justice is thought to be a friendly quality.”

Friends are joined by mutual goodness, pleasure, and/or usefulness. There are many combinations and types discussed.

I suppose justice comes in when one or more of these things is withdrawn to a certain degree or maybe was over-estimated. This is why there are civil courts. He also doesn’t seem to get into loving one’s enemies.

