plugging away

by Andrea Elizabeth

I’m getting a little bogged down in the middle of 11-22-63 by Stephen King. I guess a lot of the stuff in the fictional small Texas town of Jodie was character development and exploring what it would be like to go back in time in general. Now I suppose he’s building up a character sketches of Marina and Lee Harvey Oswald by spying on them Rear Window style. I have more pithy preferences, but his sketch of the mechanics of domestic abuse is insightful. King’s a pretty good psychologist.

I read somewhere that King really likes American language. Maybe that’s why I feel a little bogged down. I find American language very utilitarian, so I expect efficiency in story telling. I prefer the British use of English, and so when Dickens rambles I find it more artistic. King uses profanity for color, which is efficiently American I guess. Still, his books are just as companionable somehow. Before you say he’s too off-putting in his grittiness, I’ll say Dickens can be off-putting too in his.

 

