Don’t just blow them off

by Andrea Elizabeth

So if someone is engaging in erroneous mind reading leading to overly negative situational evaluations, I would rather ask what is your past experience rather than, ‘you’re wrong about me, you are being paranoid, groundless, and in error’ (pg 56-58 Ancient Christian Wisdom and Asron Beck’s Cognitive Therapy.)

One, they probably have a festering wound that needs healing. 

Two, mankind is united so I am connected to the person/people seen to have caused the initial wound, even if innocent of the particular bad intention, and if I remind the person of them, maybe I can help make reparations.

Three, there are bad intentions and sins of omission, committed in ignorance that are still sins even if the person didn’t mean to. Bad feelings aren’t groundless. 

