strange god indeed

by Andrea Elizabeth

Before I forget more, I’ll jot down some thoughts about Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis. I missed our bookclub meeting on it. I had a much less favorable impression of it this second time around. The first time I was able to root for both Psyche and Orual. This time the complaints against the gods had more force, and the happy ending didn’t work for me.

C.S. Lewis has a hypnotic way of making you swallow contradictions. I won’t deny paradox, but I don’t think the Orthodox have to check their brains in at the door as much. We do not have to accept a god who does not show his face and who consumes people. The Incarnation and our icons reveal what God looks like. If we repent, we are not consumed. What we are not is consumed, and who we are is strengthened by grace.

Orual consistently acted selfishly (I don’t consider being good at war in itself a virtue), and yet at the end she has turned beautiful. Is this because of the mysterious robe of righteousness that covers who you really are and makes you assume someone else’s identity?

And opening ourselves to a void of identity gives all sorts of entities an invitation to enter in.

