The Goddess

by Andrea Elizabeth

I caught a surprisingly good movie called, The Goddess which I found out partway through was loosely based on the life of Marilyn Monroe. Since then I’ve learned about the previously unknown to me acclaimed writer, director, and actress who played in it. The movie was made in 1958, 4 years before Marilyn died, but pretty much predicted her suicide. I was mesmerized by Kim Stanley’s performance, especially her mood swings. They did not seem put on or forced, even though they were extreme. Very humanizing. Actually mood swing is a dismissive phrase. The upsetness was more organic than that. The instability and mental illness surrounding her childhood accounts for a lot, and will have a result that can overpower a person if they are not given the right support and have the will to overcome it.

 

