preliminary reflection on A Rotation of Crops

by Andrea Elizabeth

the next section in Either/Or by Søren Kierkegaard.

Boredom is the root of all evil, he says. And there is a certain logic to thinking God made Adam because he was bored, Eve because Adam was bored, and then they sinned because they were both bored.

He says boredom is not, contrary to opinion, due to idleness, as business can also be boring. I guess people aren’t as bothered by it then.

He says the answer to boredom is the art of forgetting and recollecting simultaneously. To me this means detachment, which is not hope, which he says is a dubious gift. Detachment says I can do either. That I have freedom.

But what about the Alamo? What would happen if we forgot it? Perhaps remembering without forgetting motivates us to war. Forgetting turns us into pacifists? Doing both makes us consider more wisely and act out of freedom rather than compulsion? We are ambivalent, which reminds me of a joke:

Roses are red

Violets are blue

I’m a schizophrenic

And so am I.

