Interlude

by Andrea Elizabeth

Last night on the way home from Denton I decided a Charlotte Mason conversation with my daughter could be about why songs are titled as they are. Pandora can expose you to tunes you’ve never heard of such as Ubi Caritas and My Lady Carey’s Dompe. After I lectured her, amidst protest, on the objective way music used to be titled, such as by Concerto number and for famous people like Elise and for the type of dance, we moved on to more modern instrumental music that uses poetic titles, such as Night Noise’s “The Kid in the Cot”, which I’m assuming is originally composed. The song is pretty lively, and I was wondering to myself, because I wanted her to contribute, how lively can a kid in the cot be and remain in the cot? She said it’s about his dream. Duh!

