And then there’s absurdism

by Andrea Elizabeth

Philosophical absurdism.

My conclusion in the post on absurdist literature was Kierkegaard’s leap of faith. Camus is interesting. He made me think of the stoning of Stephen. Kierkegaard would like that he saw Jesus sitting at the right hand of God, who deadened the pain? Camus would say that was escapism. I suppose he would prefer, go ahead, make my day. Perhaps he is a masochist.

I’ve wondered at the martyrs who endure horrible torture, are healed, then endure it again. What’s the point of that? Are they protected from the pain? And to say, thy will be done, could possibly not be escapism but absorption in the other. Your God will be my God, your people my people. Kenosis is escaping self absorption for a broader, truer point of view. Is reality a caterpillar or a butterfly? See Corpse Bride for that.

