conversations of a lazy baker

by Andrea Elizabeth

“See me if you would like to learn to make Prosphora”, said my Priest.

“I would like to learn”, I said after the service.

“I’ll teach you”, said one of the bakers.

“Anna, would you like to come too?” She agreed.

(At the baker’s house after adding ingredients)

“I’ll knead first”, said Anna.

“Ok”, and she kneaded most of it.

“Making Prosphora is fun”, I thought.

(After a few batches)

“The Prosphora could be a little denser”, said the Priest.

“Should I adjust the thickness, or the time of rising, or add more flour?”

“The thickness and rising time probably don’t need to be changed.”

(After adding a half cup more flour while kneading, I think to self)

“Kneading stiffer dough is harder than kneading softer dough.”

(Lent and Holy Week increase demand, so that a once a weak, single batch is not enough. Today I tried making a batch and a half.)

“This isn’t going to fit in one bowl. Kneading in two bowls instead of just one isn’t hard. Wait, they need to be consistent. What if I dust my rolling counter and knead the two lumps together and then the remainder of the flour? Oh, now I get to use both hands so that my left hand and arm muscles can catch up to my developing right ones. It’s more work to knead more flour into more dough! It’s probably good for me.

Hey, what if the flour particles are like individuals who need to be made into the Body of Christ. A Solo Christo person can have trouble uniting herself to others as well as to Christ. It takes more muscles to join in more people. When she begins she can only handle small batches of people. If she does it consistently, at least every week, she can get stronger so that adding more and more isn’t a burden. In theory, anyway.”

