Jericho

by Andrea Elizabeth

Just finished the pretty good series, Jericho, on Netflix. I’m not sure of the politics as it seems the writers are anti-government and anti-corporation, but pro Republic of Texas, yes! Maybe the writers are just good critics. On the morality front, we picked this PG show because we think PG-14 has scenes that are too explicit. There was infidelity, but I think they were equally critical of that as they were judgmentalism. Maybe a little more critical of judgmentalism. The violence reminds me of the old westerns from the ’50’s, which is satisfying but not too gross.

Should I feel guilty for it being satisfying? I think there is room to criticize idealistic heroes who don’t tote a gun. There’s something a little too sweet and self-satisfied about their moral high ground. This show talks about where the line is.

