Duck and cover

by Andrea Elizabeth

It was this quote from George Takei (Star Trek’s Sulu who I think is gay) that made me bother to find out what Duck Dynasty even is:

I wont post Phil Robertson’s offending comments in the GQ interview because of their graphic nature. It is really hard to reconcile someone’s Biblical position when it is so stated. I find George’s comment much more gracious, dignified, and humble. But, like Phil, I am a Bible believing Christian who is connected to Monroe, Louisiana and the surrounding area. Both my parents were raised there. Both sets of grandparents still lived there or near when I was growing up and visiting them.

Here is the verse he gets his premise from: “Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God” (1 Corinthians 6:9-11).

It seems he thinks that since he is a monogamously married and hetero Christian that he gets to go to heaven,  even if he speaks crudely and condescendingly about other people’s private behavior. People who innately like the right things are so lucky. While I sympathize with most people with addictive personalities, which is my term for those who don’t innately like healthy things, I don’t like it when people identify themselves according to sinful behavior as if it’s not sinful. I don’t know if we can help our addictions, or if they are just the result of uncurbed, but curbable, proclivities. All I know is that entrenched ones are very hard to stop. I suppose we better, or we wont get into heaven, but someone smugly gloating over their not getting the struggle just doesn’t help. Additionally, A&E picked redneck southern duck hunters for a reason and should have been prepared for what goes with it. Seems most other, even tolerant people like George Takei, are.

