Do over

by Andrea Elizabeth

1200 stitches into The Three St. Johns and I’ve decided one thread for 22 count Aida cloth is too thin. There’s too much white showing through, and it’s laying too flat and two dimensional. So I’m going back over it with another half stitch. It’s making the color and texture much richer. I can’t practically convert to one and a half stitches so I’ll have to use double thread when I finish my retracing. Retracing is a pain, Mostly because  it’s harder to see where to place my stitches. And I’m breaking the rules by alternating directions on each row, because otherwise, going back I’d stretch my thread twice as far on the non showing side between stitches. Maybe that’s why needle pointers stitch diagonally? Still, it’s kind of fun being rebellious. Lord have mercy.

