32 down, 346,068 to go

by Andrea Elizabeth

20120419-131236.jpg

I just finished my first cluster of my first color in “My Lady and the Unicorn” cross stitch. I misplaced the very first stitch and had to go back and take it out, then the last third were too far to the left, so I had to take them out and re-stitch them too. This combined with the fact that it took a week to procure, organize, spool and label the floss is making me think about the long road called process.

There are two kinds of people in the world: those who think there are two kinds of people in the world, and those who don’t. I don’t. Mainly because I resist labeling people. We can label our deficiencies, but we shouldn’t block ourselves from the cure. Wholeness and health are the goal, not segregation.

The following can be diagnosed as two separate diseases: goal orientation (notice I am not using it as an adjective to describe a class of people) and process orientation as I take on this intricate project. I have the deficiency of goal orientation and am impatient and even reckless with details. Process orientation can bring about perfectionism, workaholism, and difficulty completing projects. However, I think we should all seek a balance of being careful workers, simultaneously focused on the end while not losing sight of the present.

If I may add, the Jesus prayer is used in this way. It is not about getting to the end of the prayer, because it is to be ceaselessly repeated. Instead we are to keep our minds in our hearts with each word. And at the same time, keep tuned in to ‘the author and finisher of our faith’.

