The Hunger Games 5, have to admit I ended up getting caught up

by Andrea Elizabeth

So I’ve finished reading it. I think a jury of her peers would get Katniss off on self-defense. But Rue is more spotless, imo. The author does a good job of describing people’s different modes as instances of their different natures and nurtures. Katniss is different than Rue, so they acted differently. I don’t think I’ll see the movie (for now) because I agree with one person who said the book is criticizing the gladiatorial spectacle, so watching the movie would be hypocritical. But I think I’ll let my daughter go with her friend as I don’t think it’s the only way to look at it. The way Katniss describes how different people watch the Games is interesting. The Capital for entertainment, the Districts to see how their loved ones are faring and to learn from in case they get chosen.

The controversy in my mind over why the hesitation with this story over others is that it involves children killing other children, instead of adults killing adults. The bad teens are the Careers who’ve trained their whole lives to ruthlessly win. The good ones are the self- and others-defenders. Katniss is too resolved from the beginning to win herself, but she believes that her cause is unselfish, as I imagine many soldiers going off to war do. I can’t condemn it.

Then I started thinking about women going off to war. This made me think of the case in Massachusetts where an Episcopal Priest let his church split over the ordination of women a few years ago, if I remember correctly. He said that once you ordain women, then the door will be open to homosexuals. I thought it was a non-sequitur until it happened. I wonder if letting women fight in combat leads to letting children.

And I also thought of Susan in the Chronicles of Narnia with her bow and arrow, and the war involving the children at the end of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Maybe C.S. Lewis opened that door. I also thought of TL,tW,athW at the table scene towards the end of The Hunger Games. I think it was more gruesomely portrayed in that movie than this one will be. I think I’ll let my daughter tell me if it is.

Which leads me to another point. Apparently the children who have been raised in a 9/11 world can’t really be shocked anymore. The cat’s already out of the bag. Even though Vietnam was on the news when I was little, it seemed far away and something I could ignore. 9/11 hit a lot closer to home for this generation. I think the author nailed PTSD as well.

