Fare thee well

by Andrea Elizabeth

I am glad The Ochlophobist gave us notice of the impending demise of his blog. It was a favorite of mine and a stimulus for much thought and catharsis. The reason I am glad is that a sudden implosion would have stirred up a temptation to react more strongly. But the way the subject matter gradually changed from criticism to rejection and then to demise seemed like a natural death in which you have time to prepare. Sudden deaths are harder to take. I will always remember and appreciate the engaging discussions, talented writing style, valuable links to other interesting blogs, books and articles, challenging looks at lifestyles, and what he now considers sentimentality, which I think is too dialectical a term. I am very sorry for his disillusionment and disenchantment and hope to see Owen again on more common ground someday.

