Now and ever and unto ages of ages, amen

by Andrea Elizabeth

I’m letting Kierkegaard out of time out since my last post on his Greek philosophical views on women. In the next section, ending on page 93 of The Concept of Anxiety, he explores the concept of time. Rather than try to repeat his complex explanation of the unity of the past, present and future, the moment as an atom of time, and the future as eternity and possibility, I will relate what comes to me during the oft repeated, “Now and ever and unto ages of ages, amen.”

If I am paying attention during this phrase of the services, I am transported out of the shackles of materialism, which comes from dwelling in the moment divorced from eternity. I sometimes wonder if Kierkegaard borders on gnosticism, but usually find an excuse in that he comes back around to balance. But he does seem to favor spirit over body and the future over now or the past. In his note on death, I sense a bit of fascination with it, which leads me to wonder more about his untimely death. Yet, we can justify him with St. Paul, “Who will deliver me from this body of death?” But I have also heard that this part of Romans is early in his career, along with the part about not doing what he wants and doing what he doesn’t want. Deliverance can come here and now by summoning the eternal.

