He explains it a little more

by Andrea Elizabeth

My impression of Kierkegaard’s thought about women and subsequent beings taken up again on page 63 and following in The Concept of Anxiety: He repeats the notion of what I believe is Platonic degeneration. That which comes after is less than that from which it came, in this case woman from man. He also says it applies to subsequent generations. One aspect of less than is a decreased spiritual nature, increased sensuality and the resulting increased anxiety. Yikes. I’ll retain some apophaticism about it because how can I judge who is the more spiritual, if one is? To me spirituality and headship are two different things. Still, if a woman is all those things, I don’t think it is a result of degeneration, but of design. I don’t like comparing things in such an evaluative way.

