Spring’s already here, at least this week

by Andrea Elizabeth

While the poinsettia’s fade before the ever-green and flowering mural painted for me by my friend,

the frostbitten daffodils emerge

as do shoots of a longer stemmed variety

The germinated bluebonnet plants are raring to go as well.

(click on the bluebonnets to see the thousands, maybe millions, of white outlined, five-leafed groupings)

I’m going to try to pick up some vegetable plants to put inside the western facing upstairs barn window until Pascha/Easter, when danger of frost is usually passed. I’ll just have to lug up some water every day because of its already present, un-air-conditioned greenhouse effect. I’m hoping that getting a head start this year will help me yield more fruit before the scorching heat begins.

