left vs. right

by Andrea Elizabeth

For our last day of Christmas break I broke my no morning tv rule and watched part of The View because they were interviewing Nicole Kidman who has a new movie, Rabbit Hole, about a couple losing a child. I don’t know if I’m ready to see it. Anyway, The View seems to have a new young blond republican amidst their democratic panel. Barbara Walters doesn’t seem to take sides, but I suspect she’s also on the left. She doesn’t seem to be as upset at the republican girl as Joy Behar is. I have had a few conversations with a democrat (these labels seem old fashioned) where I get the feeling that they are boiling angry at republican coldness. I have come to see republicans as cold too in the last few years, but I guess that since I was (am? cold, not republican, as I don’t care about their issues anymore either) one of them, it doesn’t make me as angry. I am having trouble sympathizing with Joy’s anger at the young republican girl’s representing, by association, children not having nice warm lunches at school. I don’t want the children to go hungry, but the shrill anger and disdain at those who have been painted as supporting it, seems amiss. I think both sides are too extreme, but the main thing that bothers me is the vilification of the other side and the idea that “I would never be like you.”

As a follow up to yesterday’s post on Die Hard, I’ve had another thought about the difference between that movie and Little Dorrit. The bad guys who died in Little Dorrit conveniently died of natural causes which are implied interventions from above. Dickens’ good guys are passivists, but his God apparently isn’t. Bruce Willis is more like Dickens’ God, not like Dickens’ good guys. I suppose it’s Dickens’ view of “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay.” hmmm.

