Tangled and Grey Gardens

by Andrea Elizabeth

Continuing with meaning and doors. Tangled is worthwhile, imo. It is probably the most Disney World of all the movies, but there was insightful character portrayal of “mother seduction” mixed with undermining (which I read about after watching Grey Gardens. Here’s another article on it. btw not for children.) that can lead to daughters developing Borderline Personality Disorder, or to at least have the angst which is so well portrayed in Tangled. Some may also say it’s a critique of over-protection or even homeschooling. Not too long ago I would have gotten defensive over the homeschooling part, but I think the problems in the relationship have more to do with mother-seduction and undermining and would happen whether the child went to public school or not. Edie Beale (Grey Gardens) went to school, except for the year or two she was kept at home. One would have to vilify cloistering in general to make that claim, which I think is too simplistic. See St. Macrina and her mother for a more positive example. Over-vilification of the outside world is also the problem, which leads me to the doors.

There was a symbolic scene in Rapunzel’s tower where she paints over the only religious symbol in her room. What she replaced it with was a worthy symbol of human communion, but the message is that true human love is the only thing you can count on, not God. Additionally, there is also a message that scary people in bars, the other doors, are the true saviors. I can’t help but think that is just wishful thinking. I remember in my rebellious years thinking that the “lower sort” were more real and true than Christians, but they turned out to bite me too. You really can’t put your faith in a type of person. I almost said, ‘don’t trust in princes or the sons of men’, and that is true, but I trust and need George so I can’t really make a blanket, unqualified statement like that.

