Politics and social programs 2

by Andrea Elizabeth

Of course I am thankful for the freedoms I enjoy in America. I am also thankful for the prosperity too. I know what pain, hunger, and being trapped feels like, though I’m sure not to the extent those in the “third world” do. I now know what it is like to be on the other side of that, and I’m glad the harder part seems to be over. In America though we’ve become bored with our comfort and freedom. They are not the end all be all that they were hyped up to be. They bring a dangerous malaise that I don’t think we can say is superior to the alert awareness and sensitivity poverty and pain can bring. Not that we should become sadists or masochists, but I think our goals should shift. For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? (Matt. 16:26)

I think a big goal to Christian missions has been a two handed approach of sharing the gospel and feeding the people. My understanding of Orthodoxy is that this is not so segregated. In one hand is both heavenly and physical food.

(edited out my passionate, hyper-defensive rant)

